Friday, 31 May 2013

Updated FAQs for the current playtest copies

Frequently Asked Questions

Updated 08/June/2013



General

1. How does the Jokull work?

The Jokull areas get no defenders, any card colour allows appropriate units to move into it, these units can also retreat there.

2. How does the Maelstrom work?
This is a black area for game purposes.

If a player occupies the Maelstrom when a 10 or 11 is rolled and the Maelstron spins, that player receives a Crystals (8/5) card before any units are destroyed. The spinning Maelstrom also triggers rebellion in Fate Card Beasties (see rules).

No unit can either move or be forced to move into the Maelstrom, if it spins with defenders in it, they are destroyed and replaced at the end of the round.

3. Can a character that is held in my player reserve be affected by fate cards?
No, not until it is deployed.

4. How does combat with defenders work?
When attacking Defender Units, there is limited combat - see 2-page rules for details.

5. How does the Thieving of mana work and, if I have mana stolen by the the Thief, can I end up with negative mana?
The Thief cannot steal mana if player has none, i.e. at start of game. Players cannot have negative mana.

Mana is stolen by adding mana to thief owner's mana on the mana track and deducting from target player's mana on the mana track.

6. How does moving two areas work?
Units with this ability allow a stack to bypass an intervening stack of defenders, but not an opposing player's stack.

7. If I rebuild a dead unit, do the unit abilities get refreshed in the same round?
If you re-build a unit that had used an ability, their ability is immediately refreshed, e.g. an assassin has used their skill, gets killed, gets re-built, their assassin ability is re-charged.

8. How does retreating work?
You must retreat to a friendly area if possible. If you cannot, then the next option is an area with defenders in it. If you cannot do either of these, the last resort is to retreat into an opponent owned area.

9. When I redeploy at the end of a round using a Fate card, you I have to reveal what I am moving?
No, you do not have to reveal what unit you are moving, just that you are moving a unit. You do have to show and discard a Fate Card of the appropriate colour.

10. Do I have to play a card to activate an area to allow me to use my Special Abilities in that area?
No, the Special Abilities, such as Steal, Spy, Heal, do not require an Active Area to allow their use.

11. If I win a combat with a stack of three and capture a City I'll have a stack of four in an area which breaks the rules, what do I do?
If you want to capture the City by deploying a City from your reserve, you can choose to retreat one unit back to the area it attacked from. This is the attacking players choice - either retreat one unit or choose to destroy the City. If you deployed three new units into the combat, you cannot choose retreat and the city is destroyed.

Fate Cards


020 - Seelie Court.
Cannot be used in combat.

021 - Unseelie Court 
Typo - text is the same as for Seelie Court, +/- effects should be the reverse of what is written. Cannot be used in combat.

023 - Volcanic Eruption
This card can only be played on a Vulkan Special Place. The Fire Player is immune to the damage effects and is the only player who benefits by getting two Fate Cards if the Volcanic Eruption is played and they occupy this area.

024 - Major Volcanic Eruption 
This card can only be played on a Vulkan Special Place. The Fire Player is immune to the damage effects and is the only player who benefits by getting two Fate Cards if the Major Volcanic Eruption is played and they occupy this area.

038 - Faerie Tricks
You cannot force a unit into the Maelstrom.

040 – Clever Sheep.
Check combat strength on cards/units.

043 - Changeling
Card says Changeling, unit piece has Shape Shifter, change to latter.

051 - Rastler Tasler
Once deployed and 'owned' by one player, any subsequently DRAWN will immediately join with the original unit. This is done by the Rastle, Tasler owner accepting the card, placing it face up and adding the unit to the existing Rastler, Tasler unit(s). There are 3 of these cards.

062 - Huldrekall
'Seduce character' only affects an opponent's deployed character, i.e. one with a unit on the board. The seduced character is placed in the seducing player's reserve ready for deployment following normal rules.

063 - Abandoned Ship
You may only move one of your own units.

064 - Huldra
'Seduce character' only affects an opponent's deployed character, i.e. one with a unit on the board. The seduced character is placed in the seducing player's reserve ready for deployment following normal rules.

065 - Burial Mound
Change reference from blue to purple.

073 - Water Wyrm
Can move two areas, as do any units stacked with it.


Character Cards
1. Mac MacMac – Old Rogue rules – revise
2. The Black Cruickshanks – Weather reference, revise
3. Eilidh Jensdottir - Card has 4 Strength, but the corresponding unit token has 5 Strength. 4 is correct.

Other Things

1. If revising map, make area corner boundaries clearer.
2. Need to add about 18 defender units to cover 2-player on standard map. Temp fix for now, leave distant areas empty and fill with dead defenders when anyone gets there or seas only get 1 defender.
3. Make Maelstrom area darker and create a spinning Maelstrom counter.
4. Check for any remaining mana cost icons on Beastie Units (earlier versions of the game had a mana cost for deployed Beasties).

Optional Rules

1.   NO FACTION MARKERS.

Don't hide units under your faction marker, only use to them to denote Fate Beasties or Characters when required. You can see your units more easily, so can your opponents!





No comments:

Post a Comment